film crew with equipment in front of an old western building

Incentives for Filmmakers in Nebraska

Nebraska Film Office Grant

Administered by the Nebraska Department of Economic Development (DED), the Nebraska Film Office Grant is available to any public or private, resident or nonresident, production company that will produce a feature film, television series, or miniseries on location in the State of Nebraska.

For information on how to apply for the Nebraska Film Office Grant, including specific guidelines and requirements, visit .

LB840/863, Local Optional Municipal Economic Development Act (LOMEDA)

The Local Option Municipal Economic Development Act (LB840, 1991) authorizes incorporated cities and villages to collect and appropriate local tax dollars—including sales and/or property tax, if approved by the local voters—for economic development purposes. With the passage of LB863, the LOMEDA act was amended and production of films or television programs was included in the program’s eligible activities. 

If you are interested in learning more about the municipal incentive available in some communities across the state, please contact the Nebraska Film Office. In order to qualify for the incentive, you must register your project with the Nebraska Film Office.

Do not wait to inquire about this fund. Lead times will vary from community to community. Contact NFO for more information:


List of communities by region that participate with LB840 funds:






Alliance Ainsworth Albion Beatrice
Arapahoe Arnold Beemer Crete
Bayard Atkinson Bellevue Fairbury
Beaver City Burwell Blair Falls City
Cambridge Central City Clearwater Geneva
Chadron Doniphan Columbus Louisville
Cozad Grand Island Crofton Milford
Curtis Holdrege Fremont Nebraska City
Gering Loup City Fullerton Plattsmouth
Gothenburg O’Neill Hartington Seward
Imperial Ord La Vista Stromsburg
Kimball Ravenna Neligh Tecumseh
Lexington Sargent Norfolk
McCook St. Paul Plainview
Mitchell Superior Scribner
North Platte Sutton Schuylar
Oshkosh Valentine South Sioux City
Scottsbluff Wakefield
Sidney Wayne
West Point